On Thursday the 2019 Associated Press Player of the Year Award was announced and there was no surprise here as LSU's Joe Burrow took home the hardware in a landslide.

Out of a possible 54 votes, Burrow received 51 for a total of 159 points blasting away Ohio State's DE Chase Young who finished second with the other three first-place votes and 69 points. Buckeyes QB Justin Fields finished third with 43 points and Oklahoma QB Jalen Hurts rounded out the top four garnering 33 points.

Joe Burrow had an exceptional statistical season passing for 4,715 yards, 48 touchdowns, and putting up a 77.9 completion percentage all are LSU records.

He's also in line to bring home the coveted Heisman Trophy this coming Saturday. In fact, there have only been five instances in which a player hasn't won both the AP Player of the Year and the Heisman with this award beginning in 1998.

The last time it happened was back in 2015 when Stanford RB Christian McCaffrey won the AP Player of the Year and Derrick Henrey Alabama's RB won the Heisman.

Congrats to Joe and look forward to seeing him take home the Heisman as well. #GeauxJoe


For all my sports posts and to hear my inner sports thoughts, make sure to keep up with me on TwitterInstagram, and Facebook

More From 103.3 The GOAT