Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns guard Frank Bartley and head coach Bob Marlin both received top honors on the All-Louisiana team released Saturday night by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Bartley was named the state's Player of the Year, while Marlin was named Coach of the Year.

Bartley, a senior from Baton Rouge, was the Cajuns' leading scorer in the 2017-18 season, averaging 17.8 points, 4.3 rebounds and 2.6 assists per game.  He led the Sun Belt in free throw percentage (86.0 percent).  He is the sixth Cajun to win the award, joining Dwight "Bo" Lamar (1972, 1973), Andrew Toney (1980), Michael Allen (1994), Tyren Johnson (2010) and Elfrid Payton (2014).

Brad Kemp/RaginCajuns.com
Brad Kemp/RaginCajuns.com

Marlin, who was also named Sun Belt Coach of the Year, led the Cajuns to a school record 27 wins in winning the Sun Belt regular season title.  He is the first Cajuns' coach to win the award twice (2014, 2018) and joins Beryl Shipley (1972), Jim Hatfield (1977), bobby Paschal (1980) and Marty Fletcher (1994) as other Cajuns' coaches who have been honored by the LSWA.

Joining Bartley and Marlin were Bryce Washington, named to the second team and JaKeenan Gant, named to the third team.

Roddy Peters of Nicholls was voted Newcomer of the Year, while Tremont Waters of LSU was Freshman of the Year.

More From 103.3 The GOAT