It's hard to believe it's been 25 years.

It was back in 1992 when the Cajuns won a share of the Sun Belt regular season title, the Sun Belt tournament and a game in the NCAA Tournament as well.

That squad, which featured five 1,000 point scorers will be honored at halftime of the Louisiana-ULM game Saturday night at the Cajundome.

Marty Fletcher's squad began the season 1-5 with a tough non conference schedule and stood at just 11-9 after twenty games.  But Louisiana finished the regular season 17-10 and 12-4 in league play, earning the #2 seed for the conference tournament held at the Mississippi Coast Coliseum in Biloxi.

The Cajuns defeated New Orleans in overtime 73-69, Little Rock 64-61 and then came back from a twelve point halftime deficit to beat top-seeded Louisiana Tech 75-71 to capture the league's automatic berth into the NCAA tournament.

Seeded #13 in the West Regional, Louisiana went to Tempe, AZ where they knocked off #4 seed Oklahoma 87-83 in the NCAA first round before falling two days later to New Mexico State 81-73, ending their season 21-11.

Cajun greats Michael Allen, Byron Starks, Todd Hill, Marcus Stokes and the late Tony Moore all were members of that squad and all five finished their careers as members of the 1,000 point club, with Allen, Starks and Hill all in the top 25 scorers of all time.  Stokes was one of only three players ever to amass 1,000 rebounds in a career.

Eric Mouton, Cedric Mackyeon and Carroll "Hawk" Boudreaux were other key players on the squad that faced a non conference schedule that included Memphis (twice), Northern Iowa (twice), Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Southern Miss.

More From 103.3 The GOAT