Prior to today, the Carolina Panthers Hall of Honor had one member in the late great Sam Mills.

In addition to Mills, the Hall of Honor included PSL Owners and original general manager/president Mike McCormack.

Today, 4 more players were announced as part of a 2019 Panthers Hall of Honor class, and one of them is Acadiana native and former Louisiana Ragin' Cajun quarterback Jake Delhomme.

Delhomme, who is a member of the Louisiana Ragin' Cajun Hall of Fame (class of 2006) and Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame (2014), spent 7 of his 13 NFL seasons in Carolina.

He led the Panthers to Super Bowl 38 in his first season with the team (2003), coming up just shy of winning it as Carolina fell by 3 points to the Patriots in a back and forth battle.

Delhomme holds the NFL record for longest touchdown pass in a Super Bowl, connecting on an 85 yard score with Mushin Muhammad.

A Pro Bowler in 2005, Delhomme led the Panthers to two NFC South championships, two NFC Championship game appearances, and one NFC title.

After a standout high school career at Teurlings, Delhomme led the Ragin' Cajuns to a pair of Big West Championships, was under center for the historic upset win over Texas A&M at Cajun Field in 1996, and started 43 games for Louisiana.

He broke into the league with the New Orleans Saints, also spending time in the now defunct NFL Europe where he was part of a World Bowl championship in 1999.

Joining Delhomme in the Panthers 2019 Hall of Honor class is tight end Wesley Walls, wide receiver Steve Smith and offensive lineman Jordan Gross.


More From 103.3 The GOAT