Tampa's Joe Maddon, who led Tampa Bay to

the playoffs despite losing several key players to trades and free agency, has been named American League Manager of the Year.


Kirk Gibson of the Arizona Diamondbacks, the surprise winner in the National League West, won the award in the senior circuit.

Maddon received 26 of 28 first place votes to easily outdistance Jim Leyland of Detroit and Ron Washington of Texas.

Gibson also won his award easily over Ron Roenicke of Milwaukee and Tony LaRussa of St. Louis.

More From 103.3 The GOAT